Super Bowl MVP Odds: Who are the favorites to win Super Bowl MVP?

Eddie Griffin

In a handful of Sundays, the NFL will crown a new Super Bowl champion. The hallowed Lombardi Trophy will not be the only piece of hardware handed out amidst the confetti, Gatorade, and celebrations at Super Bowl 56 at SoFi Stadium. The MVP of the Super Bowl will also be honored and receive the Pete Rozelle Trophy, which is named after former NFL commissioner Pete Rozelle.

In all likelihood, the winner will be a player from the winning team. A Most Valuable Player award has been given out at every Super Bowl, starting with the first one in 1967. In over five decades, there has been only one Super Bowl MVP from the losing team.

In Super Bowl V, the Dallas Cowboys lost to the Baltimore Colts (now the Indianapolis Colts). But in a sloppy game that featured 11 total turnovers–seven by the winning team–Cowboys linebacker Chuck Howley was named MVP after recording two interceptions and a forced fumble.

Given that was 51 years ago, the Super Bowl 56 MVP will not likely come from the losing team. So, which players are likely to take home the award come February 13?

With the wild-card round of the NFL playoffs done, only eight teams now remain in the playoff field. That means the field of Super Bowl MVP candidates is significantly narrowed. The top names in last week’s odds whose chances ended on Super Wild Card Weekend were Cowboys QB Dak Prescott (+1300), Arizona Cardinals QB Kyler Murray (+2000), and New England Patriots QB Mac Jones (+2800).

Here’s a look at how Super Bowl MVP odds stack up heading into the divisional round. The round will kick off Saturday afternoon with the Tennessee Titans, the AFC’s #1 seed, hosting the Cincinnati Bengals.

Super Bowl MVP Odds and History

Odds to Win Super Bowl 56 MVP (as of January 18, 2022)

  • Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers +400 (Previous: +450)
  • Patrick Mahomes, QB, Kansas City Chiefs +500 (Previous: +550)
  • Tom Brady, QB, Tampa Bay Buccaneers +600 (Previous: +800)
  • Josh Allen, QB, Buffalo Bills +600 (Previous: +900)
  • Matthew Stafford, QB, St. Louis Rams +1000 (Previous: +1200)
  • Ryan Tannehill, QB, Tennessee Titans +1400 (Previous: +1200)
  • Jimmy Garoppolo, QB, San Francisco 49ers +1400 (Previous: +2500)
  • Joe Burrow, QB, Cincinnati Bengals +1800 (Previous: +2500)
  • Derrick Henry, RB, Tennessee Titans +2000 (Previous: +2500)
  • Cooper Kupp, WR, St. Louis Rams +3000
  • Deebo Samuel, WR, San Francisco 49ers +3000
  • Davante Adams, WR, Green Bay Packers +4000
  • Ja’Marr Chase, WR, Cincinnati Bengals +5000
  • Tyreek Hill, WR, Kansas City Chiefs +6600
  • Stefon Diggs, WR, Buffalo Bills +6600
  • Travis Kelce, TE, Kansas City Chiefs +6600
  • Aaron Jones, RB, Green Bay Packers +6600
  • George Kittle, TE, San Francisco 49ers +6600
  • Joe Mixon, RB, Cincinnati Bengals +8000
  • Devin Singletary, RB, Buffalo Bills +8000
  • Aaron Donald, DT, Los Angeles Rams +8000

Odds are via BetMGM.

Rodgers Poised to Win Award for Second Time

If things go according to the odds across the board, the Green Bay Packers–who top Super Bowl 56 odds–will win their first Super Bowl since Super Bowl 45, and Aaron Rodgers will make a clean sweep of the NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP awards.

Thanks to a stellar regular season, the Packers are the #1 seed in the NFC and edge out the Chiefs as the favorite to win the Super Bowl. Rodgers, despite missing one full game and playing only one half in Green Bay’s regular season finale against the Detroit Lions, is an overwhelming favorite to win NFL MVP.

The only team with two players with odds of +2000 or shorter re the Titans, the top seed in the AFC. Henry will return against the Bengals-Titans game after missing the last nine games of the regular season. He is the Titans’ best player and the NFL’s best running back, so it is no surprise to see him with the best non-quarterback odds.

Super Bowl Most Valuable Player History

Who has won Super Bowl MVP the most times?

Brady leads the way with five. Brady’s most recent Super Bowl MVP win came last year, as he helped lead the Bucs to a Super Bowl 55 win over the Chiefs.

The only other player with more than two is Joe Montana. Montana picked up three during the San Francisco 49ers’ run of four titles in nine seasons.

Three other players also have two, and all three, like Brady and Montana, are quarterbacks. Like Montana (and eventually Brady), two of the three are already in the Hall of Fame, and the third at some point: Bart Starr of the Green Bay Packers (I and II), Terry Bradshaw of the Pittsburgh Steelers (XIII and XIV), and Eli Manning of the New York Giants (XLII and XLVI).

Has anyone won Super Bowl MVP in back-to-back years?

To date, Starr and Bradshaw are the only two players to win the award in back-to-back years.

Which position has won Super Bowl MVP the most?

As with the NFL MVP, quarterbacks have dominated the award, winning it 31 of 55 times. Running backs and wide receivers come in next with seven apiece. Linebacker (four), defensive end (two), and safety (also two) have been the most frequent winners on the defensive side of the ball.

Which positions have never won the award? No tight ends, offensive linemen, or kickers have. The lone return man to win the award, Desmond Howard (XXXI, for the Green Bay Packers) is one of only four players to win both the Heisman Trophy and Super Bowl MVP. Roger Staubach, Jim Plunkett, and Marcus Allen are the other three.

Who is the last defensive player to win Super Bowl MVP?

To date, linebacker Von Miller is the last defensive player to be named Super Bowl MVP. Miller, now with the Los Angeles Rams, helped lead the Denver Broncos to a 24-10 win over the Carolina Panthers. In the win, Miller had six tackles and two sacks and forced two fumbles.

Which players have won NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP in the same season?

Only five players have pulled off the sweep in the same season: Starr (1966), Bradshaw (1978), Montana (1989), Emmitt Smith (1993), and Kurt Warner (1999).

Thirteen players have won both in their career, with Mahomes being the most recent member. He won NFL MVP in 2018, then bagged the Pete Rozelle Trophy two years ago when the Chiefs defeated the San Francisco 49ers to win their first title in 50 years.

Has the Super Bowl MVP ever even been shared?

That has happened only once. The Cowboys defeated the Denver Broncos to win Super Bowl XII, with a dominant defensive effort–eight forced turnovers, four sacks, 156 total yards allowed–leading the way in the win. After playing a key role in the victory, defensive end Harvey Martin and defensive tackle Randy White shared the award.

More Articles You Might like

Latest on Betting News

Which NBA props should you bet on today? We take a look and offer up our favorite selections for today’s NBA action.