San Antonio Spurs

Daniel Collins

Written by: Daniel Collins

Last Updated:

Read Time: 2 minutes

The San Antonio Spurs were founded in 1967 as the Dallas Chaparrals. They then become the Texas Chaparrals in the American Basketball Association from 1970-71 and then the San Antonio Spurs from 1973 until present.

Arena: AT&T Center

Team Colors: Black & Silver

President: Gregg Popovich

Ownership: Spurs Sports & Entertainment

Championships: 5 (1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2014)

Conference Titles: 6 (1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2013, 2014)

Overall Record: 2572 Wins – 1721 Losses

Playoff Appearances: 47

Retired Numbers: 00 (Johnny Moore), 6 (Avery Johnson), 9 (Tony Parker), 12 (Bruce Bowen)*, 13 (James Silas), 20 (Manu Ginobli), 21 (Tim Duncan), 32 (Sean Elliot), 44 (George Gervin), 50 (David Robinson).

*In 2015, the Spurs took the number 15 off the retired list and reissued it to LaMarcus Aldridge.

All Time Leading Scorers

Tim Duncan (26,496), David Robinson (20,790), George Gervin (19,383), Tony Parker (18,943), Manu Ginobli (14,043), Mike Mitchell (9,799), Sean Elliot (9,659).

Current Roster: LaMarcus Aldridge, Marco Belinelli, DeMar DeRozan, Drew Eubanks, Bryn Forbes, Rudy Gay, Keldon Johnson, Trey Lyles, Chimezie Metu, Patty Mills, Dejounte Murray, Jakob Poelti, Luka Samanic, Lonnie Walker IV, Quinndary Weatherspoon, Derrick White and Tyler Zeller.

The San Antonio Spurs are one of four current NBA teams to remain after the merger of the ABA and NBA and are the only franchise of those four to have won an NBA title since.

They remain the only professional sporting team in San Antonio which is one of the reasons why they are one of the most popular and well supported teams in all of American sports.

The Spurs have been one of the most successful teams in American sports in the past three decades, winning 50 games every season from 1999 right through until 2016-17.

The Spurs equaled the NBA record for most consecutive playoff appearances in a row with 22 in the 2018/19 season.

The franchise has not had a top 10 draft pick since 1997 when they selected Tim Duncan with the number 1 pick of the draft. Duncan went on to win five NBA Championships with the Spurs which included 3 NBA Finals MVP Awards, 2 NBA MVP Awards, 15 NBA All Star selections and scored 26,496 points at 19 points per game. He retired as one of only three NBA players in history to have 1000 career wins and the only to do it with one team. Duncan came from St. Croix in the Virgin Islands and at an early age he was determined to be an Olympic swimmer.

The only other time they had the number 1 pick in the draft was in 1987 when they selected David Robinson. Robinson would finish his illustrious career with NBA Championships with the Spurs, he was the 1995 NBA Most Valuable Player, a 10 time NBA All Star and two Olympic gold medalist.

George Gervin won 12 consecutive NBA All Star games during his star studded career and remains one of the greatest players to have played in the famous black and grey jersey.

Tony Parker released a hip hop album back in 2007 in his first language which is French. It was not successful.

Long time coach Gregg Popovich served in the U.S Air Force as a younger man. He is the longest tenured active coach not only in the NBA but of all the major US league sports.

The Spurs mascot is the Coyote and remains the only mascot to ever be ejected from an NBA game after he scared the opposition team.

Former NBA great Charles Barkley hates the San Antonio Spurs.