NBA 3-Point Contest 2022 Odds & Pick: Is Mills the Best Bet?

Devon Platana

Every year, the 3-point contest is one of the more popular aspects of the NBA All-Star Weekend. There’s just nothing better than watching the league’s best sharpshooters sink 3-pointer after 3-pointer around the arc.

Over the past three and a half decades, some of the NBA’s premier perimeter shooters have won this event. Last year, the greatest shooter of all-time claimed the win in Atlanta. Steph Curry won’t be defending his title in Cleveland, but several of the NBA’s most prolific and precise marksmen will be vying for the crown.

Here is a look at the event information, participants, and odds for this year’s NBA Three-Point Contest.

2022 NBA 3-Point Contest Info and Betting Odds

Event Information

  • Where is the 3-Point Contest? Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse (Cleveland, Ohio)
  • When is the 3-Point Contest? Saturday, February 19, 2022, at 8:00 p.m. ET. The Three-Point Contest will take place following the Taco Bell Skills Challenge and before the Slam Dunk Contest.
  • Where can I watch the 3-Point Contest? TNT

2022 NBA 3-Point Contest Participants

  • Desmond Bane, Memphis Grizzlies
  • Luke Kennard, Los Angeles Clippers
  • Zach LaVine, Chicago Bulls
  • CJ McCollum, New Orleans Pelicans
  • Patty Mills, Brooklyn Nets
  • Karl-Anthony Towns, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Fred VanVleet, Toronto Raptors
  • Trae Young, Atlanta Hawks

Odds to Win the 2022 MTN DEW NBA 3-Point Contest (as of Friday, February 18, 2022)


  • Luke Kennard: +400
  • Patty Mills: +450
  • Fred VanVleet: +550
  • Trae Young: +550
  • Desmond Bane: +650
  • Zach LaVine: +650
  • CJ McCollum: +800
  • Karl-Anthony Towns: +1200

Caesars Sportsbook

  • Luke Kennard +450
  • Fred VanVleet +500
  • Patty Mills +500
  • Trae Young +550
  • Zach LaVine +600
  • Desmond Bane +600
  • CJ McCollum +900
  • Karl-Anthony Towns +1200

FanDuel Sportsbook

  • Luke Kennard +400
  • Patty Mills +460
  • Trae Young +550
  • Fred VanVleet +550
  • Desmond Bane +650
  • Zach LaVine +650
  • CJ McCollum +850
  • Karl-Anthony Towns +1200

What is the Format of the NBA 3-Point Contest?

Contestants will each have 70 seconds to sink as many 3-pointers as they can, with the highest possible score being 40.

The three highest-scoring competitors will advance to the final round, where the winner of that portion will be crowned champion.

Who Won Last Year’s NBA 3-Point Contest?

In 2021, Steph Curry won the Three-Point Contest for the second time in his career. Steph needed to make his final two shots to beat out Utah Jazz guard Mike Conley, and he did just that to edge Conley 28 to 27.

Who Will Win The 2022 NBA 3-Point Contest?

This year’s competition is a mix between starting and bench players, which should make for an entertaining showing. We’re also guaranteed to see a first-time winner, with none of the previous victors entering this year’s event.

While each of the competitors is more than capable of sinking their fair share of 3-pointers, Patty Mills is the best bet here. With everything that’s gone on with the Brooklyn Nets this season, Mills has had to handle a bigger offensive role. That’s led to him attempting a career-high 7.7 3-pointers per game with a .419 conversation rate.

There have only been three games during this season where Mills has finished with zero 3-pointers made, proving that he’s one of the most consistent shooters in the NBA.

As a 13-year veteran, Mills has been waiting a long time for this moment and viewers should expect him to put on a show in Cleveland.

NBA 3-Point Contest History

When was the first Three-Point Contest?

The first NBA 3-Point Contest was in 1986 in Dallas, Texas. Hall of Famer Larry Bird won the first contest and the following two.

Who has won the 3-Point Contest the most times?

Bird (1986-88) and former Chicago Bulls guard Craig Hodges (1990-92) both won the event three times. Curry, Mark Price, Jeff Hornacek, Peja Stojakovic, and Jason Kapono are the only other players with multiple Three-Point Contest wins.

Recent NBA 3-Point Contest Winners

  • 2021: Stephen Curry
  • 2020: Buddy Hield
  • 2019: Joe Harris
  • 2018: Devin Booker
  • 2017: Eric Gordon
  • 2016: Klay Thompson
  • 2015: Stephen Curry
  • 2014: Marco Belinelli
  • 2013: Kyrie Irving
  • 2012: Kevin Love
  • 2011: James Jones
  • 2010: Paul Pierce
  • 2009: Daequan Cook
  • 2008: Jason Kapono
  • 2007: Jason Kapono
  • 2006: Dirk Nowitzki
  • 2005: Quentin Richardson
  • 2004: Voshon Leonard
  • 2003: Peja Stojakovic
  • 2002: Peja Stojakovic

More Articles You Might like

Latest on Betting News

There are 12 stakes taking place on Saturday. Five of those will be held at Santa Anita Park for California bred horses including the Fran’s Valentine.