Wimbledon Betting, Champions, Records & History

Eddie Griffin

Written by: Eddie Griffin

Last Updated:

Read Time: 3 minutes

Carlos Alcaraz Wimbledon 2023

If you were to ask people who don’t know tennis very well if they could name a tennis tournament, many of them might mention Wimbledon, which is one of sports’ most notable events, at least in terms of name recognition.

Wimbledon is the third of four Grand Slam tournaments on the annual tennis calendar, and it has taken place since 1877.

Each year, the tournament takes place at the All-England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club.

Wimbledon 2023 Dates and Schedule

In 2023, the tournament is taking place from July 3 to 16.

As usual, the women’s singles final takes place on a Saturday (July 15), while the men’s singles final takes place on Sunday (July 16).

Best Wimbledon Betting Odds

Famous sporting events, like the Masters in golf, the Super Bowl in football, the World Cup in soccer, the World Series in baseball, and the Kentucky Derby in horse racing, are always popular events for sports betting.

Countless Wimbledon bets are made every year, and even though the event takes place on the other side of the pond, many American sports bettors love to partake in Wimbledon betting.

At Betting News, we provide comprehensive coverage of all major sporting events, including the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments (Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open).

Throughout each tournament, including Wimbledon, you can find the latest betting odds in our coverage. Also, you can find our recommendations for which sports betting sites you should consider for betting on tennis.

We hope that our coverage can help you with understanding Wimbledon betting odds, determining the best Wimbledon betting strategies, and making successful Wimbledon betting picks.

Past Wimbledon Champions

Roger Federer Wimbledon tennis

Here’s a look at some of the recent Wimbledon men’s and women’s singles champions.

Men’s Singles Champions

  • 2022: Novak Djokovic
  • 2021: Novak Djokovic
  • 2020: tournament not held (COVID-19)
  • 2019: Novak Djokovic
  • 2018: Novak Djokovic
  • 2017: Roger Federer
  • 2016: Andy Murray
  • 2015: Novak Djokovic
  • 2014: Novak Djokovic
  • 2013: Andy Murray

Women’s Singles Champions

  • 2022: Elena Rybakina
  • 2021: Ashleigh Barty
  • 2020: tournament not held (COVID-19)
  • 2019: Simona Halep
  • 2018: Angelique Kerber
  • 2017: Garbine Muguruza
  • 2016: Serena Williams
  • 2015: Serena Williams
  • 2014: Petra Kvitova
  • 2013: Marion Bartoli

Wimbledon Records and History

Martina Navratilova Wimbledon tennis

One of the more recent highlights of Wimbledon has been the dominance of Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic over the last two decades.

But they are just a couple of the many memorable Wimbledon champions. There have been many remarkable moments and milestones in Wimbledon history.

Federer, who retired from tennis in 2022, finished his illustrious career with 20 Grand Slam singles titles. A record eight of those came at Wimbledon, including five in a row from 2003 to 2007.

That is also a record, but it isn’t one that he owns alone. Bjorn Borg, a dominant force in tennis in the mid-to-late 1970s and early 1980s, won five Wimbledon titles in a row from 1976 to 1980.

But neither Borg nor Federer hold a candle to the great Martina Navratilova.

Navratilova won 18 Grand Slam titles in her career, with nine of them coming at Wimbledon (a record), including six in a row from 1982 to 1987 (also a record).

Navratilova also won seven women’s doubles titles and four mixed doubles titles at Wimbledon. Those 20 titles are part of her 59 total Grand Slam singles (18), doubles (31), and mixed doubles (10) titles.

Iconic Moments in Wimbledon History

Jana Novotna Duchess of Kent Wimbledon 1993 Steffi Graf

For those who have watched tennis for a very long time, who can forget the moving moment when the late Jana Novotna was comforted by the Duchess of Kent following the 1993 Wimbledon women’s singles final.

In the third set, Novotna held a 4-1 lead over Steffi Graf and was five points from the upset. Sadly, she then lost the final five games and the match.

After losing a second final to Martina Hingis in 1997—also in three sets—the third time would be the charm for Novotna in 1998, as she defeated Nathalie Tauziat to win her only Grand Slam singles title.

In terms of memorable matches, who can forget the John Isner-Nicolas Mahut marathon match in 2010?

In what remains the longest match in the history of professional tennis, Isner defeated Mahut 6-4, 3-6, 6-7 (7-9), 7-6 (7-3), 70-68 in 11 hours, five minutes.

The match started at 6:13 pm on June 22, 2010, and after an eight-hour, 11-minute fifth set, it finally came to an end at 4:47 pm on June 24.

That would be the most notable match of Mahut’s singles tennis career, but he has completed the career Grand Slam in doubles, including a Wimbledon win in 2016.

Where to Bet on Wimbledon

Here are some of the online sportsbooks that offer Wimbledon odds and odds on other tennis tournaments throughout the year.

There are many sports betting sites that are good for betting on tennis, but the above books are five that we highly recommend.