Dallas Stars

Daniel Collins

Written by: Daniel Collins


Read Time: 2 minutes

The Dallas Stars were part of a six-team expansion during 1967. They started as the Minnesota North Stars from 1967-1993. The Minnesota North Stars then became the Dallas Stars in 1993. Ever since they moved, Dallas has won one Stanley Cup title in 1999 against the Buffalo Sabres. The following season, they went back to the Stanley Cup Finals, but they lost to the New Jersey Devils in six games.

Dallas hasn’t been back to the Stanley Cup Finals since. They are in the middle of a potential deep Stanley Cup Playoff run. The Dallas Stars currently lead the Colorado Avalanche 3-2 in a best-of-seven series in the second-round. Dallas has not been to the Western Conference Finals since the 2008 against the Detroit Red Wings.

The current head coach for the Dallas Stars is interim head coach Rick Bowman. He took over during the middle of the 2019-2020 season because Jim Montgomery was fired due to locker room issues.

Jim Nill is the general manager for the Dallas Stars. Tom Gaglardi is the current owner of the Dallas Stars. He has been the owner of the Dallas Stars since the 2011 season.

Some of the best players in franchise history are: Mike Modano, Ed Belfour, Marty Turco, Neal Broten, Bill Goldsworthy, Bil Masterton, Jere Lehtinen, Jussi Jokinen, Brenden Morrow, Dave Gagner, and Bill Goldsworthy.

Some of the current forwards on the roster are: Jamie Benn, Andrew Cogliano, Blake Comeau, Ty Dellandrea, Jason Dickinson, Justin Dowling, Radek Faska, Denis Gurianov, Martin Hanzal, Roope Hintz, Mattias Janmark, Joel Kiviranta, Joe Pavelski, Corey Perry, Alexander Radulov, and Tyler Seguin.

Some of the key defenseman on this roster are: Miro Hiskanen, Stephen Johns, John Klingberg, Esa Lindell, Jamie Oleksiak, Roman Polak, and Andrej Sekera.

The goalies on this roster are: Ben Bishop, Anton Khudobin, and Jake Oettinger.

Bishop was acquired in a trade from the Tampa Bay Lightning at the trade deadline in 2017. This allowed the Tampa Bay Lightning to finally have their full investment in goaltender Andrei Vasilevskiy.

Tyler Seguin led the team in points this past season with 50. In 69 games this past season, he scored 17 goals and recorded 33 assists. His plus/minus was -2.

Jamie Benn is the captain for the Dallas Stars. He played in 69 games this past season. Benn scored 19 goals and recorded 20 assists. His plus/minus was -4.

Miro Hiskanen played in 68 games this past season for Dallas. He scored eight goals and recorded 27 assists. His plus/minus was 14.

Alexander Radulov played in 60 games this past season for the Stars. He scored 15 goals and recorded 19 assists. His plus/minus was 8.

Roope Hintz played in 60 games this past season for Dallas. He scored 19 goals and recorded 14 assists. His plus/minus was 3.

John Klingberg played in 58 games this past season for the Dallas Stars. He scored six goals and recorded 26 assists. His plus/minus was -10.

Joe Pavelski signed as a free agent in the offseason. He played with the San Jose Sharks last season. Corey Perry also signed as a free agent in the offseason. Perry played with the Anaheim Ducks last season.

Pavelski scored 14 goals and recorded 17 assists, in 67 games played with Dallas this past season. His plus/minus was 6.

Ben Bishop played in 44 games this past season and he started in 43 of them. His record was 21-16-4 with a .920 save percentage and a 2.50 GAA, along with two shutouts.

Anton Khudobin is the backup goalie. Jake Oettinger is projected to be the goalie of the future.